Winners of the Rugby World Cup List (1987-2019)

We have the complete list of Rugby World Cup winners from 1987 to 2019. The Rugby World Cup began in 1987, and it occurs every four years. South Africa is the current champion of RWC Events.

Quick Guide : Steps to Watch Rugby World Cup 2023 Free Online

  1. Subscribe ExpressVPN to stream Rugby Matches 
  2. Choose and connect to a secure VPN location in the UK..
  3. Visit to start streaming live TV securely on any network
  4. Enjoy Rugby World cup live online!

Stream Rugby Securely with ExpressVPN

Stream Rugby With #1 VPN

Let’s take a brief look at the RWC Winners

List of Rugby World Cup Winners (1987-2019)

1987: New Zealand

Tournament : 8 September to 28 October 2023 
Watch Online Anywhere : Order ExpressVPN (Full Guides To Watch Online)
Live in USA : Fubo TVSling TVHulu TVNBC Sports
Live in UK : BBC iPlayer, ITV
Where to Watch : TF1 (France) Stan Sports (Australia), Raiplay (Italy) & Worldwide TV channels

Hosting and winning the first-ever Rugby World Cup launched an eventful legacy for New Zealand.

1991: Australia

In 1991, the Wallabies won their first Webb Ellis Cup, defeating England in the final.

1995: South Africa

As the Springboks won their first title at the end of the apartheid era, 1995 was a historic year for South Africa.

1999: Australia

In 1999, the Wallabies took their second Rugby World Cup.

2003: England

In 2003, England became the sole Northern Hemisphere team to win the Webb Ellis Cup, breaking the Southern Hemisphere’s winning streak.

2007: South Africa

In 2007, South Africa won their second Cup title, equaling Australia’s total.

2011: New Zealand

In 2011, the All Blacks held up their second Webb Ellis Cup.

2015: New Zealand

The All Blacks won the World Cup for the third time in 2015, achieving a consecutive win.

2019: South Africa

The Springboks won their third Rugby World Cup title in 2019, tying New Zealand for the most victories.

List of RWC Winners Till Date

No:# EventYearWinnerRunner-UpScore
92019South AfricaEngland32−12
82015New ZealandAustralia34-17
72011New ZealandFrance8-7
62007South AfricaEngland15-6
31995South AfricaNew Zealand15-12
11987New ZealandFrance29-9


There is much more to the Rugby World Cup than just a tournament. It celebrates sportsmanship, teamwork, and the global rugby community as a whole.

With its intense competition and high standards, this sport is reflected in the Roll of Honor from 1987 to 2019.

With the upcoming 2023 Rugby World Cups just around the corner, we can’t help but wonder, which team will be the next to etch their name in the glorious history of the Rugby World Cup?

FAQ – Frequently Ask Questions

In what year and where did the first Rugby World Cup take place?

In 1987, New Zealand hosted the first Rugby World Cup.

Which Team Won the First Rugby World cup Trophy ?

1987 was the year that the New Zealand All Blacks won the first Rugby World Cup.

What is the number of times the Australian team has won the Rugby World Cup?

Total Two Times In 1991 and 1999, Australia won the Rugby World Cup.

Which teams have won the most Rugby World Cups Titles?

With three Rugby World Cup titles each, New Zealand and South Africa share the most victories.

How frequently is the Rugby World Cup tournament to be played on?

Every four years, the Rugby World Cup is held.

Leave a Comment