The following is a list of Rugby World Cup winning captains

Every four years, the best rugby teams from around the world compete for the prestigious trophy at the Rugby World Cup. Since the tournament began in 1987, several captains have won the trophy and engraved their names in rugby history. This article discusses the List of Rugby World Cup Winning Captains, their leadership, and how they contributed to their team’s success.

Quick Guide : Steps to Watch Rugby World Cup 2023 Free Online

  1. Subscribe ExpressVPN to stream Rugby Matches 
  2. Choose and connect to a secure VPN location in the UK..
  3. Visit to start streaming live TV securely on any network
  4. Enjoy Rugby World cup live online!

Stream Rugby Securely with ExpressVPN

Stream Rugby With #1 VPN

Captains of Rugby World Cup winning teams

It includes David Kirk from New Zealand in 1987, Nick Farr-Jones from Australia in 1991, Francois Pienaar from South Africa in 1995, John Eales from Australia in 1999, Martin Johnson from England in 2003, John Smit from South Africa in 2007, Richie McCaw from New Zealand in 2011 and 2015, and Siya Kolisi from South Africa in 2019.

David KirkNew Zealand1987
Nick Farr-JonesAustralia1991
Francois PienaarSouth Africa1995
John EalesAustralia1999
Martin JohnsonEngland2003
John SmitSouth Africa2007
Richie McCawNew Zealand2011, 2015
Siya KolisiSouth Africa2019

FAQ – Frequently Ask Questions

How many captains have led their teams to two Rugby World Cup victories?

The only captain to lead his team to two Rugby World Cup victories is Richie McCaw, who captained the New Zealand team in 2011 and 2015.

In South Africa’s first Rugby World Cup victory, who was the captain?

In 1995, Pienaar led the South African team to victory at the Rugby World Cup.

Leave a Comment